2017 National History Teacher of the Year

The Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) will participate in the 2017 National History Teacher of the Year (NHTOY) competition, which is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History (a nonprofit and non-Federal entity) and Preserve America (a Federal entity). The award recognizes and rewards outstanding American history teachers. Elementary (grades K-6) middle and high school teachers (grades 7-12) are honored in separate categories in alternate years. This year's award will honor elementary school teachers.

Nominations can be made by a student, parent, colleague, principal, or other administrator familiar with the teachers' work. All teachers must be nominated via the Gilder Lehrman Institute Web site. Applicant information is also available on the Web site.   The deadline for 2017 nominations is February 15, 2017. Nominees must submit supporting materials by March 28, 2017.

A committee of DoDEA educators will select among the nominees, one teacher as DoDEA' s State History Teacher of the Year (SHTOY), similar to the selection process employed by states. A national committee of educators will select a NHTOY from among the SHTOY s. Each SHTOY will receive a $1,000 award. The NHTOY will receive a $10,000 award.

Please direct any questions to , Headquarters Instructional Systems Specialist by telephone at DSN (312) 372-1883/(571) 372-1883.