Accreditation Banner
All DoDEA schools are on a five year accreditation cycle.
During that five year cycle the schools must:
  • Make a commitment to continuous improvement by monitoring and evaluating efforts on a yearly basis;
  • Complete a thorough self-assessment using the AdvancED® Standards for Quality Schools and Quality School Systems;
  • Complete an annual evaluation of student performance; and
  • Host a one day accreditation visit at all schools in the district that is undergoing a comprehensive two week accreditation visit.

AdvancED® Standards for Quality Schools and Quality School Systems

  • Standard 1: Purpose and Direction
    The school/system maintains and communicates at all levels of the organization a purpose and direction for continuous improvement that commit to high expectations for learning as well as shared values and beliefs about teaching and learning.
  • Standard 2: Governance and Leadership
    The school/system operates under governance and leadership that promote and support student performance and school effectiveness.
  • Standard 3: Teaching and Assessing for Learning
    The school’s/system’s curriculum, instructional design, and assessment practices guide and ensure teacher effectiveness and student learning across all grades and courses.
  • Standard 4: Resources and Support Systems
    The school/system has resources and provides services in all schools that support its purpose and direction to ensure success for all students.
  • Standard 5: Using Results for Continuous Improvement
    The school/system implements a comprehensive assessment system that generates a range of data about student learning and system effectiveness and uses the results to guide continuous improvement.

Accreditation Status

AdvancED has two accreditation statuses that may be conferred on a school/school system as a result of the comprehensive accreditation visit.  The accreditation status is based on the performance of a school/school system in areas related to the Accreditation Standards, policies, assurances, student performance results and stakeholder feedback.  

The two accreditation statuses are:

  • Accredited
  • Accredited Under Review