DoDEA Americas Teacher Nominated for the MacGregor Teacher of the Year

Tim Proskauer

Mr. Tim Proskauer is a teacher at Ramey Unit School in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico.

PEACHTREE CITY, GA — March 25, 2020 — A Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) Americas Region teacher was nominated for the Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Teacher of the Year award sponsored by the former National History Day (NHD) Board of Trustees President, Dr. James F. Harris.

Mr. Tim Proskauer is a teacher at Ramey Unit School in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. One high school teacher may be nominated for this award from each of the 58 National History Day affiliates. Mr. Proskauer is the senior division nominee from Puerto Rico. All nominees will receive $500.

According to National History Day, every nominee is a teacher, who demonstrates a commitment to engaging students in historical learning through innovative use of primary sources, implementation of active learning strategies to foster historical thinking skills, and participation in the National History Day Contest. Nominees’ work must clearly illustrate the development and use of creative teaching methods that interest students in history and help them make exciting discoveries about the past.

The MacGregor Teacher of the Year award is awarded to one high school teacher annually and is in honor of Dr. Harris’ late sister. The winner will be selected by a committee of experienced teachers and historians from among the affiliate nominees. The winner will be announced on June 18, 2020, at the National History Day National Contest Awards Ceremony held at the University of Maryland, College Park and will receive $10,000.

NHD is a non-profit organization based in College Park, Maryland, which seeks to improve the teaching and learning of history. The National History Day Contest was established in 1974 and currently engages more than half a million students every year in conducting original research on historical topics of interest. For more information, visit