Department of Defense Education Activity

Three DoDEA Schools Selected as 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Blue Ribbon 2018

Three Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) Schools were recognized in October 2018 by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy Devos as 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Alconbury Elementary School at RAF Alconbury in Huntingdon, United Kingdom; Patch Elementary School at U.S. Army Garrison Stuttgart in Stuttgart, Germany; and E.A. White Elementary School at Fort Benning, GA are among the National Blue Ribbon Schools recognized across the nation. The award is based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“I am extremely proud of the hard work and dedication to student achievement shown at these three schools in earning National Blue Ribbon Award recognition,” said Thomas M. Brady, DoDEA Director. "Their efforts exemplify the DoDEA mission of excellence in education for every student, every day, everywhere."


National Recognition

National Blue Ribbon Schools are honored at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, DC, where each receives a plaque and flag to signify its exemplary status. These schools serve as examples for other schools throughout the nation and details of their achievements are shared on the U.S. Department of Education's website.

Founded in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students' academic achievement. A National Blue Ribbon Schools flag overhead has become a mark of excellence in education recognized by everyone from parents to policy-makers in thousands of communities. Since the program's founding, the U. S. Department of Education has bestowed this coveted award on more than 7,000 of America's schools Blue Ribbon Schools share some key qualities.

  • Their leaders not only articulate a vision of excellence and hold everyone to high standards, they stay close to the real action of teaching and learning.
  • Mutual respect and trust run deep in their cultures.
  • The whole school community embodies a sense of collegiality and commitment and members are supported by mentoring and professional development.
  • Data from many sources are used diligently to adapt teaching and learning to support every student.
  • Families and educators work together in partnership.


The Department of Education invites Chief State School Officers (CSSOs) for all states and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE), and the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) to apply for recognition as National Blue Ribbon Schools. In submitting nominated schools, the CSSO of each state and these entities must certify that the nominated schools meet the minimum requirements established by the Department and describe any other criteria used by the state to nominate the schools. States must rely on their state assessment systems to identify schools for submission to the Secretary. Each state's nomination criteria must pertain equally to all schools nominated by the state. Visit the Department of Education for details on eligibility and visit our Flickr pages to see photos from previous winners.

DoDEA Schools Recognized (1982 Through 2019)

School Name Area Year
Alconbury Elementary School Huntingdon, United Kingdom 2018
Aschaffenburg American School Aschaffenburg, Germany 1987-88
Amelia Earhart Intermediate School Okinawa, Japan 1996-97
Aschaffenburg American School Aschaffenburg, Germany 1987-88
Augsburg American High School Augsburg, Germany 1994-96
Aukamm Elementary School Germany 2014
Bahrain Elementary/High School Manama, Bahrain 1984-85
Boeblingen Elementary Middle School Boehlingen, Germany 2012
Bowley Elementary School Fort Bragg, NC 2015
Bonn American High School Bonn, Germany 1986-87
Charles Turner Joy Elementary/Middle School Chinhae, S. Korea 2012
Coevorden American School Coevorden, Netherlands 1991-92
Curundu Junior High School Curundu, Panama 1988-89
E.A. White Elementary School Fort Benning, GA 2018
Fort Campbell High School Fort Campbell, KY 2001-02
Ft. Kobbe Elementary School DoDDS-Panama Region 1989-90
Frankfurt American High School Frankfurt, Germany 1983-84
Hahn American High School Hahn Air Base, Germany 1990-91
Heidelberg High School Heidelberg, Germany 1992-93
Heidelberg Middle School Heidelberg, Germany 1984-85
Hood Street Elementary School Columbia, South Carolina 1996-97
Kingsolver Elementary School Fort Knox, KY 2013
Killin Elementary School Okinawa, Japan 2017
Lakenheath Middle School United Kingdom 2013
Mahaffey Middle School Fort Campbell 1999-00
Matthew C. Perry Elementary School Japan 2014
McBride Elementary School Fort Benning, GA 2016
Nile C. Kinnick High School Yokosuka, Japan 1988-89
Osan MIddle School Korea 2015
Patch Middle School Germany 2017-18
Quantico Middle/High School Quantico, VA 2001-02
Rhein Main Junior High School Rhein Main, Germany 1983-84
Ramstein Middle School Germany 2016
Roosevelt Roads Elementary School Roosevelt Roads Station, Puerto Rico 1996-97
SHAPE American Elementary School Mons, Belgium 2000-01
Seoul American Elementary School Korea 2016
Seoul American High School Seoul, Korea 2013
Sollars Elementary School Misawa, Japan 1993-94
West Point Elementary School West Point, NY 2017
West Point Middle School West Point, New York 1997-98
Wiesbaden Middle School Germany 2015
Wuerzburg American Middle School Wuerzburg, Germany 1992-93