Department of Defense Education Activity

DoDEA Quick Headlines

Back to Previous Page | All News Items

QMHS Students Inducted into Mu Alpha Theta

C. Smith
Quantico | May 22, 2019

Mu Alpha Theta Inductees
Mu Alpha Theta Inductees | Photo: C. Smith

Mu Alpha Theta is the international honor society for mathematics. Its purpose is to promote scholarship in, and enjoyment and understanding of, mathematics among high school and two-year college students. To be eligible for membership in the Quantico Chapter, a student must have completed two years of college preparatory mathematics courses and must maintain at least a B+ average in these courses.

Six students were inducted in Mu Alpha Theta on May 9, 2019.

Juniors: Maelyn Bierman and Evelyn Hussey

Sophomores: Alex Lee

Freshmen: Rowan Cato, Arewynn Black, Jesse Park

Current members: Leah Lee ‘19 (President), Mariah Ortegon ’19 (Vice-President), Sophie Park ’20 (Secretary), Owen Carlton ’20 (Treasure), Jaeho Lee ’19, Anthony Featherson ’21, Gabriel Major ’20, Mason Cunningham ‘20

The chapter sponsor is Ms. Chere Smith.

This year some chapter events were ACT/SAT tutoring and practice test, Pi Day celebration, peer tutoring, helping with the Middle School STEM Club and College and Career Readiness Night.

Back to Previous Page | All News Items