- Typically, the class is offered up to four times per year and dates are determined by the North Carolina Driving School (NCDS).
- Priority for enrollment is by age, and the class is offered to the oldest students first. Students must be 14 1/2 years old at the time of the class to register.
- Students must attend Camp Lejeune Schools to be eligible.
- Home-Based Screening Acknowledgment for Students Form
- Students must be eligible to attend Camp Lejeune Schools in order to attend the driver’s education class at Lejeune High School. Students who register will be required to provide documents to Lejeune High School that confirm eligibility before the 1st day of class to attend.
- All students must wear a mask at all times and have a COVID screening sheet (attached above) on file with the school for the current school year to be admitted to the building for class on the 1st day.
- Course dates for Lejeune High School are posted on the North Carolina Driving School website as they are scheduled (www.ncdrivingschool.com), and advertised in prior to offering in the weekly bulletin and in the morning announcements.
- Transportation to and from Lejeune High School for Driver Education is the responsibility of the student and parent/sponsor.
- If a student has a 504 or IEP in place, a release of information form must be completed for the driving instructor so that students will be able to receive accommodations for Driver Education.
- 504/IEP students are able to receive accommodations but no modifications.
- The State of North Carolina requires a minimum of 30 clock hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel with an instructor prior to becoming eligible for certification. Before a Driver's Eligibility Certificate is issued from the high school, a student must be in good standing and passing, at minimum, 70% of their classes. In accordance with North Carolina's Dropout Prevention and Adequate Progress Law that was passed on August 1, 1998, students must pass 70% of classes at all times in order to receive or maintain their permit and/or license. If a student fails to meet the requirements, the Division of Motor Vehicles will be notified and the student's driving privileges will be revoked until the next semester. The law was passed to help motivate and encourage better grades and high school completion.
- Eligibility certificates issued by the high school must be presented to the Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 calendar days from the date issued.
- Lejeune High School has an agreement with the NC Driving School to provide services at LHS. If you have any problems, questions, or concerns regarding the driving instructor, please call NCDS at 525-321-6700.
After Your Student Takes the Instructional Course
The instructor will contact each student to arrange the date for a vision check, then schedule the behind-the-wheel portion. Most students are being scheduled for driving 90-120 days from the classroom completion date. Thank you for your patience! This will usually take 3-4 consecutive days. Drive times are afternoons, evenings, and Saturdays.
After the student completes the behind-the-wheel, the instructor will issue a Certificate of Completion. In accordance with state late, the school provides a certificate to attest that a student is making adequate progress towards graduation once the driving portion of the class is completed. . Students must have passed 6 of 8 classes their previous semester to qualify for a certificate of eligibility
A PARENT must bring the Certificate of Completion to receive a Drivers Eligibility Form from the LHS Coordinator. Parents (only) will be issued a Driver's Eligibility Certificate to take to the DMV. As this certificate EXPIRES in 30 days, it is recommended that the certificate not be obtained until a permit test appointment is confirmed with the DMV. If a new certificate is needed, please bring the expired certificate to the Driver's Ed Coordinator.
For additional questions, please see the NCDS website www.ncdrivingschool.com or contact Ms. Campbell