Skip to main content

DoDDS Pacific Lands Six Presidential Award State Finalists

September 20, 2002 — The Department of Defense Dependents Schools (DoDDS) Pacific Director’s Office recently learned that six Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) educators from the Pacific were selected as state finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Their applications will be forwarded to the National Science Institute (NSI) Selection Committee for review in the final round of the competition. The state finalists are from:

Elementary Math Joy Elementary School, Korea

  Osan Elementary School, Korea

Elementary Science Osan Elementary School, Korea

  Seoul Middle School, Korea

Secondary Science King Elementary/High School, Japan

  Guam High School, Guam

     Of the six state finalists, Dr. Steven Bloom, DoDDS Pacific Deputy Director stated, “We are very proud that the Pacific has six educators to share in this honor, and we wish them well in the next round. This award is a credit to our educators and their pursuit of educational excellence.”

     The Presidential Award is the nation’s highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science in grades K–12. When the winners are announced, each will receive an award consisting of a $7,500 grant from the National Science Foundation to the recipient’s school and expense-paid activities in Washington, DC, during which each Presidential recipient receives an award certificate signed by the President of the United States.

DoDEA Pacific in the News

DoDEA Pacific in Social Media

Chat with us on Facebook     Tweet with us on Twitter    View us on YouTube   Watch us on schoolcube!

DoDEA Pacific Public Affairs

Unit 35007
APO, AP 96376
DSN: 315-644-5657
From the States: 011-81-6117-44-5657

The initiates and manages DoDEA's communications and outreach efforts for the Pacific to include Guam, Japan, Okinawa, South Korea. The office is responsible for media relations, internal information programs and communication with students, parents, teachers, school administrators and the public.