2017 Selectees for Principal of the Year

Mr. Joe Lovett with a leprechaun at Bitburg Elementary School.
Mr. Joe Lovett at Vogelweh with Feathers the Eagle.
Principal Haberman enjoying Mahaffey Middle School's Spring Fling.
Ms. Linda Haberman receiving DoDEA America's Elementary PoY Award presented by Dr. Washington and Dr. Huddleston.
) Principal Haberman ending the school year with some of Mahaffey's tremendous 7th grade students.
Students in first grade learn about Fire Safety from the Rheinland-Pfalz Army Department of Emergency Services. Principal Miller-Smith got to practice climbing up the four story latter in full gear.
This 4th grade class had Dr. Seuss (Principal Miller-Smith) as their guest reader during Read Across America Week.
Principal Miller-Smith helps serve dinner at Kaiserslautern Elementary School's PTA sponsored event.
KES students participate in the Kaiserslautern High School pep rally for homecoming week.

2017 DoDEA Principals of the Year

Michel Moore Robinson
DoDEA 2017 Elementary Principal of the Year

Ms. Michelle Moore-Robinson of Kinser Elementary School in Japan has been selected as the 2017 DoDEA Elementary Principal of the Year.

"Ms. Moore-Robinson is a dynamic principal who is a vital part of her local community," said DoDEA's Director, Thomas Brady. "Through her commitment and determination, she built a positive school culture where parents and the community feel informed and included. To engage with the parents, she has hosted teas with principal, 'chat and chew' lunches, and a parent university. Michelle also obtains student feedback by hosting regular Circle of Communication lunches."

Ms. Moore-Robinson earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Early Childhood Education from North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University in Greensboro, North Carolina. She also received her Master's Degree in Education Administration from Michigan State University in East Lansing, Michigan.


Sharon ODonnell
DoDEA 2017 Secondary Principal of the Year

Ms. Sharon O'Donnell, principal of Ramstein High School in Europe, the largest high school in DoDEA with more than 1,000 students, has been selected as the 2017 DoDEA Secondary Principal of the Year.

"Ms. O'Donnell has created a supportive space for students, whose parents are frequently deployed to the Middle East and Baltic regions," said Mr. Brady. "Sharon makes sure all new teachers and students receive a sponsor to help them adjust. Her school also implemented an "Adopt a Student" mentoring program, in which teachers adopt students with academic issues and meet twice daily to assist with academic understanding and organizational skills development."

Ms. O'Donnell earned her Bachelor of Science degree and Master of Science degree in Education from Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, Arizona. She also has an administrative certification from Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, GA.


2017 Regional Principals of the Year

Americas Elementary
Principal of the Year

Gilmer Vicki, Principals

Ms. Vicki Gilmer, Principal
Fort Rucker Elementary School
Fort Rucker, Alabama

Pacific Secondary
Principal of the Year

Dr. Tonya Laliberte, Principal

Dr. Tonya Laliberte, Principal
Yokota Middle School
Honshu, Japan

Europe Elementary
Principal of the Year

Joseph Lovett, Principal

Mr. Joe Lovett, Principal
Vogelweh Elementary School
Kaiserslautern, Germany