The U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools (ED-GRS) Program, which was launched in 2011, is an awards program that recognizes the most innovative schools in the Nation based on three achievement areas. The areas, collectively known as the Pillars, are listed below.

  • Environmental impact and energy efficiency
  • Healthy school environments and practices
  • Environmental and sustainability education

The Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) has participated in the ED-GRS Program for the past three years. Since joining the program in 2015, seven DoDEA schools have been awarded Federal ED-GRS status as recognition of their tremendous gains in terms of facilities, nutrition and fitness, and incorporating environmental and sustainability education into curriculum.

For school year 2023-24, DoDEA Headquarters (HQ) aims at expanding awareness of the ED-GRS Program by encouraging district participation in guiding schools through the application process. Additionally, DoDEA HQ aims at improving the quality of the application process by providing more resources, guidance to applicants and support throughout the application process. The attached DoDEA GRS application and the DoDEA GRS scoring matrix are provided for interested schools. All pillars must be completed The table below contains details of the application process.

ED-GRS Application Submission Timeline Deadline
  • Applications due to the District Superintendent for review and signature.
  • Applications forwarded to the Region Director for Student Excellence for review and signature.
Dec 9, 2023
  • Applications submitted by e-mail to Jude Scally at DoDEA HQ. A confirmation email will be sent to applicants to confirm the application submission.
Dec 16, 2024

Thank you for your unwavering commitment and tireless efforts on behalf of our military-connected students. Let us remember that transforming schools into sustainable and healthy learning environments will truly make a difference. Please direct your questions or concerns to Ms. Jude Scally at


Past Green Ribbon School Awardees


School Name Area Year
Humphreys Central Elementary School USAG Humphreys, Korea 2024
Spangdahlem Middle School Spangdahlem, Germany 2018
Tarawa Terrace Elementary School Lejeune, North Carolina 2017
Kimberly Hampton Primary School Fort Bragg, North Carolina 2016
Van Voorhis Elementary School Fort Knox, Kentucky 2016
Garmisch Elementary/Middle School Garmisch, Germany 2016
Charles P. Murray Elementary School Fort Stewart, Georgia 2015
Wiesbaden Middle School Wiesbaden, Germany 2015
Open modal Return to top