Skip to main content

For Immediate Release — January 9, 2009 | HQ
: DoDEA Selection Administrator | (703) 588-3155
Rayne Guilford : United States Senate Youth Program, Program Dir | 1-800-425-3632

January 9, 2009 — Dr. Shirley A. Miles, Director, Department of Defense Education Activity, today announced Michael Boone and Luke Morange as delegates to the 47th annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 7 -14, 2009 in Washington, D.C. The DODEA students were selected from among hundreds of applicants to attend the 47th annual Washington Week program and to each receive a $5000 college scholarship.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony was "to increase young Americans' understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world."

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students -- two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity -- to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, the foundation grants each of the 104 student delegates a $5,000 college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are provided by the foundation, as stipulated in S.Res.324; no government funds are utilized.

Michael Boone is the Student Government President at Kaiserslautern High School and represents the Department of Defense Education Activity in Germany. He is a member of the National Honor Society and is involved in activities for the betterment of the school community and has received the Community Volunteer Distinctive Award. He plays on the varsity tennis and basketball teams. He collects cars, plays piano and aspires to design automobiles. His future goals include pursuing an undergraduate degree in environmental engineering.

Luke Morange is Student Council President at David Glasgow Farragut High School and represents the Department of Defense Education Activity in Rota, Spain. He is a member of the National Honor Society and President of the football team. He also serves as a role model by participating in the peer leadership program and attended Missouri Boys State. His future college plans include attending the U.S. Naval Academy and eventually becoming a commissioned officer in the U.S. Marine Corps.

Chosen as alternates to the 2009 program were Elizabeth Anja Hartmann, who attends Lakenheath High School in Suffolk, England and Michael V. Santivesci, who attends Kubaski High School in Okinawa, Japan.

While in Washington the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senate leadership, other Senators and Congressional staff; the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to public service, this year's students rank academically in the top one percent of their states. They continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished former program delegates are Senator Susan Collins of Maine, the first program delegate elected to the Senate; Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt; former Presidential Advisors Thomas "Mack" McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional distinguished alumni are former Lt. Governor of Idaho David LeRoy, U.S. Attorney for New Jersey Christopher Christie, military officers, Foreign Service Officers, members of State Legislatures, top Congressional staff, healthcare providers and university educators.

Members of the USSYP 2009 47th Annual Senate Advisory Committee are: Co-Chairs—Senator Thomas R. Carper of Delaware and Senator Lisa Murkowski of Alaska. Advisory Committee —Senator Christopher J. Dodd of Connecticut, Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Senator Claire McCaskill of Missouri, Senator Ron Wyden of Oregon, Senator John Barrasso of Wyoming, Senator John B. Ensign of Nevada, Senator Richard G. Lugar of Indiana and Senator Mel Martinez of Florida. Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders and the Vice President of the United States.

DoDEA HQ Office of Communications

4800 Mark Center Dr.
Alexandria, VA 22350-1400

The DoDEA Communications Office initiates and manages DoDEA's communications and outreach efforts worldwide. The office coordinates press relations, internal information programs and communication with students, parents, teachers, school administrators and the public.

The HQ Communications Office:

Issues news releases and media advisories about DoDEA initiatives, employees and programs Produces video and television promotional and informational products marketed worldwide Maintains the DoDEA web site Designs printed promotional and informational material and graphic artwork to accompany publications, promotions and initiatives

Area Communications Offices: