Skip to main content

For Immediate Release — January 30, 2009 | HQ
: DoDEA Educational Communications Officer | (703) 588-3260
: DoDEA Educational Communications Officer | (703) 588-3265

ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA — January 30, 2009 — Fourteen DoDEA students are among more than 3,000 candidates in the 2009 Presidential Scholars Program. The candidates were selected from the nearly 2.8 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools this year.

This year's DoDEA candidates are:

  • Patrick A. Bush, Ramstein American High School
  • Lauren E. Dunn, Patch American High School
  • Sarah D. Johnson, Brussels American High School
  • Christopher B. Mittuch, AFCENT School
  • Jared A. Taylor, Patch American High School
  • Christine E. Ashton, H. H. Arnold High School
  • Kelsey M. Collier, Ramstein American High School
  • Stuart Gujral, Heidelberg American High School
  • Michael E. Newman, Osan American High School
  • Audry Padgett, Kadena High School
  • Amy E. Schafer, Patch American High School
  • William C. Lennard, Kadena High School
  • Bruce W. Pfirrmann, Nile C Kinnick High School
  • Keith G. Yeager, E. J. King American High School

A complete list of 2008 Presidential Scholars is available at:

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our Nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts.

Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the Nation's highest honors for high school students. The Scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in voting people. In honoring the Presidential Scholars, the President of the United States symbolically honors all graduating high school seniors of high potential.

Students have the opportunity to become Presidential Scholars based on two paths of accomplishment. The majority of the Scholars are selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. Approximately twenty additional students are selected on the basis of their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts, or creative writing.

The 3,000 candidates are selected for their exceptional performance on either the College Board, SAT, or the ACT Assessment. Further consideration is based on students' essays, self-assessments, description of activities, school recommendations, and school transcripts.

A distinguished panel of educators will review these submissions and select 500 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars will make final selection of the Scholars. They will select one young man and woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico. and U.S. students living abroad; 15 students at-large; and up to 20 students from the creative and performing arts. The U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May.

Scholars are traditionally invited to Washington, D.C. for several days in June to receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a recognition ceremony and to participate in events and activities.

For more information about the Presidential Scholars Program. parents and students can call the Presidential Scholars Office at (319) 341-2777 or send an e-mail to

More information is also available at:

DoDEA HQ Office of Communications

4800 Mark Center Dr.
Alexandria, VA 22350-1400

The DoDEA Communications Office initiates and manages DoDEA's communications and outreach efforts worldwide. The office coordinates press relations, internal information programs and communication with students, parents, teachers, school administrators and the public.

The HQ Communications Office:

Issues news releases and media advisories about DoDEA initiatives, employees and programs Produces video and television promotional and informational products marketed worldwide Maintains the DoDEA web site Designs printed promotional and informational material and graphic artwork to accompany publications, promotions and initiatives

Area Communications Offices: