A Fort Campbell High School Student will be Honored as a Finalist for the U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence in Canton

For Immediate Release — August 1, 2018 | Americas
: Public Affairs Officer | (571) 372-0604

John "Jack" Cogbill

John "Jack" Cogbill

ALEXANDRIA, VA — August 1, 2018 — A Fort Campbell High School student will be honored as a U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence finalist during the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week in Canton, Ohio Aug. 2-4.

John "Jack" Cogbill, a rising junior, is one of 25 high school student-athlete finalists. As a sophomore, Cogbill was a student council representative and participated in the Spanish and Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) clubs. He also was involved in University Interscholastic League (UIL) for math and theater arts. Cogbill supports his community through various projects with the Boy Scouts. He is a robotic volunteer and works with military family readiness groups. Cogbill is a varsity wrestler, plays varsity soccer, and was the soccer team captain. Additionally, he has made the Kentucky High School Athletic Academic All-State First Team.

The Award for Excellence program is open to all sophomore, junior and senior level high school student-athletes in the United States. The program, now in its sixth year, highlights the achievements of student-athletes across the country. The finalists are chosen based on their excellence in academics, athletics and community service. The 25 finalists for the Award for Excellence were recognized during formal ceremonies at their respective high schools this past spring. The student-athletes received their finalist plaque from a Pro Football Hall of Famer during their individual events.

The celebration will start when the Award for Excellence finalists and their guests attend the Hall of Fame Game between the Baltimore Ravens and Chicago Bears on Thursday, Aug. 2. The finalists will have the opportunity to participate in the coin toss. The 2018 Award for Excellence winner will be selected during a special recognition on Saturday, Aug. 4.

The winner will receive a $2,500 grant from the Pro Football Hall of Fame and will also be recognized during the Enshrinement Ceremony.

Later that evening, all 25 finalists and their guests will attend the 2018 Enshrinement Ceremony for the Class of 2018 – Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer, Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens and Brian Urlacher at the Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium. This ceremony will be televised nationally on ESPN and the NFL Network.

For more information about the U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence program, visit http://www.profootballhof.com/Army.

DoDEA plans, directs, coordinates, and manages Pre-Kindergarten through 12th grade education programs for school-aged children of Department of Defense personnel who would otherwise not have access to a high-quality public education. DoDEA schools are located in Europe, the Pacific, Western Asia, the Middle East, Cuba, the United States, Guam, and Puerto Rico. DoDEA also provides support and resources to Local Educational Activities throughout the U.S. that serve children of military families.