Skip to main content

English Language Arts (ELA) - Standards

DoDEA adopted College and Career Ready Standards for Literacy (CCRSL) and has begun a multi-phased multi-year implementation plan beginning with grades 6 - 12 in January, 2017.  The plan reaches full implementation K - 12 during the 2018-2019 school years.  For the 2017-2018 school years, the CCRSL standards are being taught in grades 6 - 12 classrooms; and are building awareness in grades K - 5 including the instructional intersecting relevance between literacy and other content areas (e.g. science, the arts and mathematics).

The DoDEA CCRSL reflects the content and skills that students must know and be able to do to succeed in life beyond high school.  The CCRSL describe student learning outcomes and the expressed expectations for performance by grade level for the end of the instructional year.  Think of it this way: a set of grade level standards are taught in an increasing spiral of complexity for the entire instructional year or course. The CCRSL establish three major expectations at all levels K - 12:  to build background knowledge through content rich non-fiction;  to provide regular practice (all four domains) with complex text that includes academic language; and to utilize evidence from text to increase a student's  critical thinking with all four domains (reading, writing, listening and speaking).

DoDEA’s College and Career Standards for Literacy (CCRSL) K - 12

Literacy Standards for Grades K-5 School Year 2017- 2018

DoDEA CCR Literacy Standards (CCRSL) Grades 6-12

Contact Information:

DoDEA ELA/Literacy Instructional Systems Specialist
4800 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22350-1400